IAC Press Release

For Immediate Release: June 8, 2010

Contact: Jeff Morgan
Public Relations

IAC selects three arts scholarship recipients

Iowa Falls, Marion and Urbandale students receive award

(DES MOINES, Iowa) — The Iowa Arts Council has selected three Iowa high school students from Iowa Falls, Marion and Urbandale to receive the 2010 Iowa Scholarship for the Arts.

The award is given to Iowa residents who graduate from an Iowa high school during the 2009-2010 academic year and have proven artistic ability in dance, literature (creative writing), music, theater, traditional arts or visual arts.

Each recipient will receive $1,000 towards his or her college tuition and related expenses as a full-time undergraduate at a fully-accredited Iowa college or university with a major in one or more of the disciplines considered for the award.

This year’s Iowa Scholarship for the Arts recipients are:

# # #

 The Iowa Arts Council is a division of the Iowa Department of Cultural Affairs and works to enrich the quality of life for Iowans through support of the arts. Funding for the Iowa Arts Council and its programs is provided by the state of Iowa and the National Endowment for the Arts. More information at www.iowaartscouncil.org.